//
You're reading...
Interviews, Warwickshire

Keith Barker Interview – I Want More Cricket

Former professional footballer Keith Barker has always had dreams of playing for England – but he probably imagined it being at Wembley, rather than Lords.

The 25-year-old all-rounder burst onto the County scene with Warwickshire in 2009 and has claimed 28 wickets and scored 558 runs in his first 17 First-class matches.

Now he is hoping to stake a claim for a regular County Championship place and hopes to progress enough to even grab the attention of the England selectors.

“I want to establish myself into the four-day squad, I think I have already done that in the one day squad, I now have to keep on top of that and keep pushing for the four day squad,” he said.

“Hopefully after I have established myself in the County Championship I can go on and possibly get an opportunity in the national side.

“I would love 50 wickets this season, but first it is just about playing and doing well in each game and if the wickets come and I can come close to that then great, but if I don’t I will just look at how close I have come and see how I can get there next year.”

Barker, who’s godfather is former West Indies captain Clive Lloyd,  has the luxury of not only playing under former England international Ashley Giles, but also plays along with two of the Country’s best batsmen.

“You do learn a lot playing and training with the likes of Jonathan Trott and Ian Bell,” he added. “Trott has his own ways and it’s good to see how he goes by things and how he trains and develops as a cricketer.

“Bell is a great person to have around, you can learn a lot just watching him play and he is a great guy to talk to off-the-field.

About Chris Airey

Sports Journalist at Staffordshire Uni - writes for DerbyshireCCC, TelfordUtd Programme and AllOutCricket - tries to play a bit of cricket too!!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Boundary Magazine’s Twiter

Boundary Magazine

All views published in posts are the views of the writer, and not necessarily that of Boundary Magazine.

Comment Policy

All comments will be moderated. I retain the right to delete comments of an unsuitable nature. This blog conforms to the WordPress content policy.

Blog Stats

  • 2,753 hits
