//
You're reading...
Interviews, Worcestershire

Richard Jones Interview – ‘Phillip Hughes can prove people wrong’

Worcestershire’s Richard Jones believes new overseas signing Phillip Hughes will get the opportunity to prove some people wrong next season at New Road.

Australia’s opening batsman has struggled in their recent home series against New Zealand scoring only 41 runs in four innings as the Black Caps won their first Test against their neighbours in 17-years.

Hughes, 23, has signed for Worcestershire for the second half of the 2012 season and Jones insists he can play an important role in the club’s quest to stay in LV= County Championship Division One.

“He is a young guy, but when he was a Middlesex he was unbelievable and scored a lot of runs and hopefully he can come here and bring with him that kind of form,” the promising bowler said.

“He hasn’t done too well in the recent series against New Zealand, so I am guessing he will want to come here and prove some people wrong, and hopefully he can come here and help us out and I can’t wait to play with a player of his talent.

“Our aim again will be to stay up next year – I think we are a progressive young side and we want to improve year by year. I think if we retain our division one status it will be a good year and I believe Hughes can play a vital role in achieving this.

Jones is currently preparing for the 2012 season, and in the New Year he will be traveling to Zimbabwe to get some bowling in his legs as he hopes to hit the ground running next April.

“I really want to get into the team for that first game of the season,” he added. “If I can do that it will be a good start and if I do make that first team then it will be up to me to put in the performances to warrant a place in the side for the rest of the season – I want to be a permanent fixture for Worcestershire.

“It is a big year for myself, I am in my last year of my contract and I can actually see myself playing a very important role – but I know it will be as a back-up bowler to Alan Richardson he has obviously done phenomenal for us over the last few years.

“I wished I had played more games last year, I only played five or six games in the County Championship, I didn’t play any Twenty20’s after playing a few the year before which was disappointing. I only played a few one dayers as well, so that is an area of my game that I am looking to improve in as I hope to contribute more to the club.”

About Chris Airey

Sports Journalist at Staffordshire Uni - writes for DerbyshireCCC, TelfordUtd Programme and AllOutCricket - tries to play a bit of cricket too!!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Boundary Magazine’s Twiter

Boundary Magazine

All views published in posts are the views of the writer, and not necessarily that of Boundary Magazine.

Comment Policy

All comments will be moderated. I retain the right to delete comments of an unsuitable nature. This blog conforms to the WordPress content policy.

Blog Stats

  • 2,753 hits
